Nairobi County


- The smallest yet most populous of the counties, it is coterminous with the city of Nairobi, which is also the capital and largest city of Kenya.


It consist of 17 constituencies

  1. Westlands
  2. Dagoretti North
  3. Dagoretti South
  4. Langata
  5. Kibera
  6. Roysambu
  7. Kasarani
  8. Ruaka
  9. Embakasi South
  10. Embakasi North
  11. Embakasi Central
  12. Embakasi East
  13. Embakasi West
  14. Makadara
  15. Kamukunji
  16. Starehe
  17. Mathare

Physical features 


  • Ruiru River
  • Kamiti River
  • Kasarani River (Gathara-ini)
  • Ruaraka (aka Rui Ruaka)
  • Karura River. Gitathuru
  • River (aka Getathuru)
  • Mathare River
  • Nairobi river (which is the main river in the county)


  • Karen hills
  • Ngong hills


  • Karen plains
  • Swara plains


  • Mathare valley

Importance of physical features

  • Tourist attraction
  • Rivers are sources of water
  • Mountain tops are used as places of worship and spiritual exercise
  • Natural habitat to wild animals

Types of natural vegetation

  • Forests for examples Karura forest and Ngong forests

Importance of vegetation

  • Source of traditional medicine
  • Vegetation converts solar energy into biomass and forms the base of all food chains
  • Tourist attraction
  • Source of most herbal medicines

Map of the Distribution of natural vegetation

People and population

Language groups

The largest tribal groups are the Kikuyu, Luhya, Luo, Kalenjin, Kamba, Kisii, and Meru. It has many tribes as it is the capital city of the country, people from all over the country came here for different reasons.

Areas of high population density

  • Westlands
  • Mathare
  • Kibera
  • Dagoreti North

Areas of low population density

  • Langata
  • Starehe

Social relations and cultural activities


  • Birth and naming

Shortly after having given birth, the mother announces the child by screaming: four times if the child is a girl, and five times if it is a boy. The numbers are no coincidence, for their total nine, which is the sacred number of the Kikuyu,

  • Initiation

Resources and economic activities


Main cash crops and food crops grown

Cash crops are:

  • Tea
  • Sugarcane
  • Maize
  • Coffee

Food crops are:

  • Sweet and Irish potatoes
  • Kale
  • Cowpeas
  • Maize

Areas where the cash crops are grown

  • Dagoreti North

Types of livestock kept

  • Cattle
  • Sheep
  • Goat


Major forests in the COUNTY

  • Ngong forests
  • Karura forests

Wildlife and Tourism

Type’s wildlife

  • Lions, giraffes, antelopes, crocodiles, baboons, hyenas, Buffalos, monkeys.

Game parks and reserves

  • Nairobi National park

Major tourist attractions

  • Nairobi national park
  • David Sheldrick wildlife trust
  • Karen Blixen Museum
  • Giraffe Centre
  • Nairobi National Museum
  • Bomas of Kenya


Traditional industries 

  • Tourism
  • Agriculture


Major trading centers

  • The main trading centers are Kamukunji,Eastleigh and Nairobi town it self